(DLR.de) The DLR Senate approved the founding of seven new institutes and facilities in June 2019. The background to this was a resolution passed in the German Federal Parliament on 23 November 2018. By taking this step, DLR is strengthening Germany as a location for technological research and creating highly-skilled jobs. These are to be established in Hannover, Ulm, Oberpfaffenhofen, Neustrelitz, Cottbus and Zittau, Rhein-Sieg-Kreis, and Cochstedt. DLR will now have sites in 12 German federal states. The expansion will also benefit the Helmholtz Association as a whole.
The new DLR Institute of Quantum Technologies will develop measurement instruments based on quantum-mechanical effects. The aim is to achieve unprecedented levels of accuracy. The wave properties of matter, for example, can be used for this purpose. In order to make global communications more secure, researchers are also working on implementing quantum communications and quantum cryptography on satellites.